About

The Service Learning Initiative is a joint initiative of the University of Arkansas Provost Office, the Honors College, and the Division of Student Affairs.  

In May 2014 the Service Learning Committee, co-chaired by Jennie Popp, Ph.D. and Angela Oxford, was seated with representatives from each university college as well as the Honors College, University Libraries, Graduate School, International Education/Study Abroad and the Teaching and Faculty Support Center.  

The purpose of this committee is to organize and enhance service learning at the University of Arkansas.  For more information or questions please contact your representative below:

 

Fay Jones School of Architecture

Alison Turner

 

J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences

Casey Kayser, Ph.D.

ckayser@uark.edu

 

College of Education and Health Professions

Fran Hagstrom, Ph.D.

fhagstr@uark.edu

 

College of Engineering

Bailey Sullivan

 

Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences

Lisa S. Wood, Ph.D.

lswood@uark.edu

 

Sam M Walton College of Business

Molly Jensen, Ph.D.

mjensen@uark.edu

 

Graduate School and International Education/

Study Abroad

Sarah Malloy

slmalloy@uark.edu

 

Honors College

Chelsea Hodge

cew003@uark.edu

 

School of Law

Angela M. Doss, J.D.

Amdoss@uark.edu

 

University Libraries

Lora Lennertz, MSLIS

lennertz@uark.edu

 

Honors College/Division of Agriculture

Jennie Popp, Ph.D., Co-Chair

jhpopp@uark.edu

 

Center for Community Engagement

Angela Oxford, Co-Chair

afoxford@uark.edu

 

Service Learning Graduate Assistant

Briana Kordsmeier

svclrn01@uark.edu

 

header image 1
“In the exiled Tibetan communities we experienced a people of hope in a place where hopelessness would have made more sense.  These people and their hope impacted my team and me profoundly; their survival in exile in the face of unmoving obstacles is inspiring.  There was no better way to love these people than to listen to their stories, and there was no better way to learn about myself than to step with compassion into their lives.“
-Bobby Howard